“Top Gun: Maverick,” 2022’s biggest box-office hit, has been named the best film of The year by National Board of Review.

However, National Board of Review, a long-running organization comprised of film enthusiasts and academicsThe win does not have any overlap or correlation with other award bodies. It adds to the awards season tailwinds for “Top Gun: Maverick” It is not only a worldwide smash of $1.5 billion, but also a legitimate contender for Academy Awards. The Producers Guild Awards made their announcement on Thursday. “Top Gun” Star Tom Cruise will receive its David O. Selznick Achievement Award.

The National Board of ReviewClaudio Miranda was also awarded best cinematography by, the judging panel announced Thursday for The “Top Gun” sequel.

Steven Spielberg received the Best Director Award for his autobiographical family portrait, “The Fabelmans.” Gabriel LaBelle, who plays a fictionalized stand-in for young SpielbergAlso, won for Record-breaking performance

“The Banshees of Inisherin” The most wins From the board. Both of Acting honors were taken by its stars, Colin Farrell & Brendan Gleeson for They were both portrayed as Irish friends having an abrupt fall out. Martin McDonagh, writer-director, won the best original screenplay award.

Michelle Yeoh took best actress for her lauded performance in Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert’s “Everything Everywhere All at Once.” Best supporting actress went to Janelle Monáe for Rian Johnson’s “Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery.”

Danielle Deadwyler is the actress who portrays Mamie Till-Mobley Chinonye Chukwu’s historical drama “Till,” Also, for Record-breaking performance The Scottish filmmaker Charlotte Wells, whose first feature “Aftersun” One of the year’s most critically acclaimed films, won best directorial debut.

Sarah Polley’s “Women Talking” The best ensemble award was won by the cast. The cast of The film is about a conversation between a group. of Mennonite women who were sexually assaulted and raped by men have come forward of Their village includes Rooney Mara and Claire Foy, Jessie Buckley and Judith Ivey.

Additional awards are available “Marcel the Shell With Shoes On” for Animations of the Best Lukas Dhont’s tender coming-of-age tale “Close” for Best international feature “Sr.,” Robert Downey Jr.’s tribute to his filmmaking father, for best documentary.

On Jan. 8, the NBR Awards will take place in an untelevised gala. The group received the NBR Awards last year. awarded Paul Thomas Anderson’s “Licorice Pizza” best film.

Our weekly Impact Report newsletter examines the impact of ESG news on the roles and responsibilities. of today’s executives. Subscribe here